Group of Eight

Gordon Redding, Edward Buckingham

Research output: Chapter in Book/Report/Conference proceedingEncyclopaedia / Dictionary EntryOtherpeer-review


The Group of Eight universities (G8) in Australia was formed in 1999 to facilitate
collaboration in university administration and to encourage research quality. The Group receives about three quarters of the research funding awarded nationally by the government and spends around $6 billion on research annually. Members of the group, together with the year they were founded, include the Universities of Sydney (1850), Melbourne (1853), Adelaide (1874), Queensland (1909),
Western Australia (1911), the Australian National University (1946), the University of New South Wales (1949), and Monash University (1958). These universities consistently attain high positions in global higher education rankings, and account for much of the reputation of Australia in terms of
scholarship and research. With most of the G8 ranked amongst the globally prestigious top 100 universities, they present themselves to government and Australian society as engines of growth that merit continued investment and support. This entry provides an overview of the Australian Group of Eight (G8) universities and explains their historical context. Then the entry discusses factors driving conformity, forces at work in creating this conformity, and the resulting trends, as well as the contemporary challenges facing both
G8 and non-G8 universities.
Original languageEnglish
Title of host publicationThe SAGE Encyclopedia of Higher Education
EditorsMiriam E. David, Marilyn J. Amey
Place of PublicationLondon UK
PublisherSAGE Publications Ltd
Number of pages5
ISBN (Electronic)9781529714395
ISBN (Print)9781473942912
Publication statusPublished - 2020


  • higher education
  • Australia

Cite this