George Frederick Pinto - The Complete Piano and Violin Sonatas

Elizabeth Sellars (Photographer), Kenji Fujimura (Performer)

Research output: Non-textual formCommissioned or Visual ArtworkResearch


George Frederick Pinto (1785–1806) is one of the major ‘what-ifs’ of music history: a child prodigy both as performer (on violin and piano) and as composer, he was only twenty when he died, probably from tuberculosis or from what one writer called ‘dissipation’. But the music he composed in the little time he had reveals a composer as gifted as almost any of his contemporaries. These three quirky and inventive violin sonatas – receiving their first recordings here – sit on the cusp of Romanticism, their Classical elegance warmed by a graceful lyricism that looks forward to Schubert.
Original languageEnglish
Place of PublicationLondon
PublisherToccata Press
Publication statusPublished - 1 Dec 2016

Cite this