Consensus statement on the reform of the Tasmanian constitution

Brendan Gogarty, George Williams, Michael Tate, Leigh Sealy, David Clark, Terese Henning, Anja Hilkemeijer, Richard Herr, Michael Stokes, Peter Patmore, Matthew Verney, Benedict Bartl, Simon Gates

Research output: Contribution to journalArticleOtherpeer-review


This is a consensus statement by a range of constitutional practitioners from Tasmania and across Australia on the proposal to give state constitutional recognition to Tasmanian aboriginal First Peoples. We strongly support that aim. However, we consider the current Constitution Act 1934 (Tas) must itself be subject to reform to make that recognition meaningful. The Constitution Act preamble is out of date, a legacy of our colonial past and does not reflect the shared values and principles of contemporary Tasmanian society and Government. We urge the Government to refer the entire Constitution to the Tasmanian Law Reform Institute for public consultation, review and reform.
Original languageEnglish
Pages (from-to)i-vi
Number of pages6
JournalUniversity of Tasmania Law Review
Issue number1
Publication statusPublished - 2016
Externally publishedYes

Cite this