Beta cells cannot directly prime diabetogenic CD8 T cells in nonobese diabetic mice

James De Jersey, Sarah Louise Snelgrove, Stephanie Elizabeth Palmer, Simon Alexander Teteris, Arno Mullbacher, Jaques F A P Miller, Robyn Maree Slattery

Research output: Contribution to journalArticleResearchpeer-review

28 Citations (Scopus)


Type 1 diabetes (T1D) is caused by the destruction of insulin-producing islet beta cells. CD8 T cells are prevalent in the islets of T1D patients and are the major effectors of beta cell destruction in nonobese diabetic (NOD) mice. In addition to their critical involvement in the late stages of diabetes, CD8 T cells are implicated in the initiation of disease. NOD mice, in which the beta2-microglobulin gene has been inactivated by gene targeting (NOD.beta2M-/-), have a deficiency in CD8 T cells and do not develop insulitis, which suggests that CD8 T cells are required for the initiation of T1D. However, neither in humans nor in NOD mice have the immunological requirements for diabetogenic CD8 T cells been precisely defined. In particular, it is not known in which cell type MHC class I expression is required for recruitment and activation of CD8 T cells. Here we have generated transgenic NOD mice, which lack MHC class I on mature professional antigen-presenting cells (pAPCs). These class I APC-bald mice developed periislet insulitis but not invasive intraislet insulitis, and they never became diabetic. Recruitment to the islet milieu does not therefore require cognate interaction between CD8 T cells and MHC class I on mature pAPCs. Conversely, such an interaction is critically essential to allow the crucial shift from periislet insulitis to invasive insulitis. Importantly, our findings demonstrate unequivocally that CD8 T cells cannot be primed to become diabetogenic by islet beta cells alone.
Original languageEnglish
Pages (from-to)1295 - 1300
Number of pages5
JournalProceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States of America
Issue number4
Publication statusPublished - 2007

Cite this