Asia-Pacific Tiers of Change

Chris J. Leggett, Greg J. Bamber

Research output: Contribution to journalArticleResearchpeer-review

4 Citations (Scopus)


This article starts by outlining five explanations of economic growth and four stages of economic development in the Asia-Pacific region. The developed countries there include Japan, Australia and New Zealand. the ‘Asian tigers’ of Singapore, Hong Kong, South Korea and Taiwan form a top tier of post-Japan industrialisers. A second generation of ‘tigers’ includes Malaysia in the vanguard, with Thailand and the PRC following. A third tier of industrialisers may include countries as diverse as Vietnam, the Philippines and Indonesia and, perhaps, the countries of the Indian sub-continent. Such a classification provides a context for discussing various approaches to human resources and industrial relations issues in this article and the ones that follow.

Original languageEnglish
Pages (from-to)7-19
Number of pages13
JournalHuman Resource Management Journal
Issue number2
Publication statusPublished - 1 Jan 1996
Externally publishedYes


  • Asia-Pacific region
  • economic development
  • Japan
  • Australia
  • New Zealand
  • ‘Asian tigers’
  • Singapore
  • Hong Kong
  • South Korea
  • Taiwan
  • Malaysia
  • Thailand
  • China
  • Vietnam
  • the Philippines
  • Indonesia
  • Indian sub-continent
  • India

Cite this